March 2019

2019 Team Trials Relay in Harriman State Park April 26

From U.S. Orienteering Coach and Senior Team ESC Chair, Erin Schirm

With WOC changing to forest WOC there is no longer a sprint as part of the trials. With the new selection process there is an option to have a mass start relay event as part of the trials. The winner of the relay will be an automatic qualifier to the relay team and the race will serve as a third evaluation race for the selection committee. I'm excited to say the HVO has agreed to help me put this race on.

2019 Wilson Award Winners: Itzel Barbiere (SOAR) and Aidan Minto (ICO)


Iain WilsonPhiladelphia, PA --

Youth Coaching Working Group

Erin Schirm has convened a new Sport Development Group for OUSA. The team has held three meetings, and will continue meeting weekly in order to set the framework for the tasks we plan to take on. Other group members include Tori Campbell, Andrea Schneider, Ethan Childs, Bob Turbyfill, Mike Schuh, Greg Ahlswede and Barb Bryant.  If you are interested in contributing to the work, please contact Erin at 845-364-1752.

Development of a Third Grade Orienteering PE Curriculum

Development of a Third Grade Orienteering PE Curriculum
by Barbara Bryant and Ethan Childs (Navigation Games)


Graphical abstract of Lesson 1: Boundary, Gathering, and Direction-Giving

2018 OUSA Competitive Award Winners Announced

The annual OUSA Competitive Awards are given to top American orienteers in several categories for outstanding competitive performance over the course of the past year. The Awards Committee members are Susan Grandjean, Boris Granovskiy, Linda Kohn, Patrick Nuss, and Ken Walker Sr.