Bjorn Kjellstrom Cup / Future Champions Cup

The Björn Kjellström Cup, named after a Swede who was instrumental in introducing orienteering in North America, is a competition between the national teams of the USA and Canada at the senior level. Competition for the Cup is held every two years at the North American Orienteering Championships (NAOC).

The BK Cup was first awarded in 1980. In 1982, the USA held possession of the cup for two years, but lost it to Canada in 1984, where it resided until 2010. At the NAOC in British Columbia in 2010, the cup was won by the USA in a spirited and very close competition. The USA again won the cup, this time by a wider margin, in 2012 in Pennsylvania; and maintained the win in 2014 at the NAOC in Ottawa, Canada. While Canada won it back in 2016 in Hanover, New Hampshire, it returned to the USA in 2018 when the Champs were held in the Whitehorse, Yukon Territory (Canada) area.

In 2012 a team competition between North American countries at the junior level was inaugurated, with the Future Champions Cup awarded to the winning team. The hope is that this will bring the same level of excitement and recognition for the juniors as the BK Cup has for the seniors.

Björn Kjellström Cup (left) and Future Champions Cup (right)
displayed at the 2012 North American Orienteering Championships

See the following pages for Cup scoring rules, and lists of contributing athletes.

Björn Kjellström Cup (BK Cup)

Future Champions Cup (FC Cup)

last updated 11 September 2018